Thread: Alopecia (Dachshund baldness)

Anatresia Guest

Alopecia (Dachshund baldness)

Hey- I'm new to this, so bear with me.

My dachshund is (my life) one year old. He has been diagnosed with alopecia- hereditary baldness, which I know some vets call "Dachshund ears" (when just the ears go bald). His whole belly is near-bald, with tiny hairs covering skin, like on your forearm. Behind his ears is bald (completely) and his little butt is also somewhat bald. The breeder claimed that no other dogs of hers have had that problem, and, as I saw the parents, I see no reason to think she is lying. The vet said she'd never seen it on a dog so young, nor had she seen it so badly.

It sounds really bad when I write it, but looking at him, one can hardly tell unless I point it out. It just looks like he's a lighter red on his belly & chest. (He's CUTE! He really, really is! I'm not trying to make my dog sound ugly!)

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone else has a dachshund with this problem, and if you might know of any homeopathic remedies. The vet says nothing helps, but I found that NuVet Plus (I think it's called that, anyway) vitamins help it grow in fuller, but he HATES the taste- he shows his teeth and tries to spit it out everyday, like a child eating something sour. I stopped giving it to him, because it was upsetting him and it really is just a cosmetic thing- the baldness isn't hurting him (it's not thyroid related, or anything), but recently it's been getting worse again, so I started to give him half a vitamin, instead of the whole thing (which he doesn't like, but it's not killing him.)

Any advice?

Sausage Mom Guest